



European Project EReS Workshop held in ITSAK on January 22, 2025 among the project partners

In the framework of the EU UCPM funded project "Earthquake Resilient Schools: **EReS**", a Workshop was held at the ITSAK premises among the project Partners:

- (1) Institute of Engineering Seismology and Earthquake Engineering (ITSAK-EPPO, Greece), and its subcontractor Department of Civil Engineering, Aristotle University Thessaloniki http://www.itsak.gr/en/
- (2) International Hellenic University (IHU, Greece) https://www.ihu.gr/en/
- (3) Disaster and Emergency Management Presidency (AFAD, Turkey) https://en.afad.gov.tr/
- (4) Gebze technical University (GTU, Turkey) https://www.gtu.edu.tr/

The Workshop focused in Real-Time Seismic Monitoring and Damage Assessment in Greece-Turkiye Cross Border Area(CBA), emphasizing the importance of monitoring school buildings to assess their seismic response. Using low-cost accelerometers and real-time data analysis, it highlighted methods for rapid assessment of structural damage, such as inter-story drift and stiffness degradation. The findings of the project can enhance seismic preparedness and provide tools for rapid post-earthquake assessments.

In addition, the Workshop's participants concluded that:

- The EReS project delivers critical advancements in seismic hazard and risk assessment for the Greece-Türkiye CBA, fostering collaboration and data sharing through platforms like the REDA System.
- It enhances the region's resilience to seismic events by harmonizing methodologies and focusing on vulnerable infrastructures such as schools.
- Future work should continue in integrating real-time monitoring systems, refining risk assessment models to further support local authorities in earthquake preparedness and mitigation efforts as well as in dissemination activities.

More information about EReS project in the respective webpage: https://https://eres-eu-project.topogeo.ihu.gr/

EReS participants' brainstorming





EReS Workshop's participants (from left to right): Selim Sezer, Teoman Selcuk Koksal, Murat Nurlu, Konstantinos Papatheodorou, Nikos Theodoulidis, Meltem Turkoglu, Kiriaki Konstantinidou, Kerem Kuterdem, Vassileios Papanikolaou, Eirini Chatzianagnostou, Ioannis Grendas.